Review: The Extraordinary Secrets of April. May & June by Robin Benway

IMG_0031

IMG_0032

2-our-of-5-stars

Goodreads

Buy it at: Amazon l BookDepository l Chapters/Indigo l Barnes&Noble l BookOutlet

Synopsis from Goodreads:

I hugged my sisters and they fit against my sides like two jigsaw pieces that would never fit anywhere else. I couldn’t imagine ever letting them go again, like releasing them would be to surrender the best parts of myself.
Three sisters share a magical, unshakeable bond in this witty high-concept novel from the critically acclaimed author of Audrey, Wait!Around the time of their parents’ divorce, sisters April, May, and June recover special powers from childhood–powers that come in handy navigating the hell that is high school. Powers that help them cope with the hardest year of their lives. But could they have a greater purpose?
April, the oldest and a bit of a worrier, can see the future. Middle-child May can literally disappear. And baby June reads minds–everyone’s but her own. When April gets a vision of disaster, the girls come together to save the day and reconcile their strained family. They realize that no matter what happens, powers or no powers, they’ll always have each other.
Because there’s one thing stronger than magic: sisterhood.

My Non-Spoiler Thoughts

This book really disappointed me. I’d had such high hopes for it, but the book just didn’t cut it. In all honesty the idea of the story is was gives this book all of it’s stars as well as some small factors, but on the most part, it just wasn’t that good.

What I liked

I loved the idea that three sisters get powers that seem to come out of nowhere and that there is an event that is coming up that somehow is brought along with the powers. I also liked how different the sisters were so as I read the story it was easy to differentiate who was who when the story changed POV.

Then, I liked how the book began, how it made you continue to read in anticipation. However, the ending just didn’t cut it.

What I didn’t like

One of the main issues with the book was that a huge factor of the story was never solved. I’d kept reading thinking it would surely be at the end, but it wasn’t. Then I had to Google whether it was apart of a series, it wasn’t. This is what blew it for me, not only was a main problem never solved but other tiny details were brought up and weren’t clearly solved either.

I also found that the parents were weak in this book. They just felt like an extra character thrown in to make  a scene connect to another scene, they were fillers. Also, I don’t understand how their mother could just afford to just send her daughters off to get a new t.v. like what is her job, and how can she afford to live in a 4 bedroom (or more) house in California?

 

Overall though, I did enjoy reading the book, it just had a bad ending. I did like the author’s writing and I will someday read more of her books. This is so upsetting because I’d really been looking forward to reading this. I did find it at the dollar store so maybe that should have been a sign that it wasn’t that good.

Leave a Reply

