Review: The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

photo 1 (3)

3-out-of-5-stars

Goodreads

Buy it at: Amazon l BookDepository l Chapters/Indigo l Barnes&Noble

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Lucy and Owen meet somewhere between the tenth and eleventh floors of a New York City apartment building, on an elevator rendered useless by a citywide blackout. After they’re rescued, they spend a single night together, wandering the darkened streets and marveling at the rare appearance of stars above Manhattan. But once the power is restored, so is reality. Lucy soon moves to Edinburgh with her parents, while Owen heads out west with his father.

Lucy and Owen’s relationship plays out across the globe as they stay in touch through postcards, occasional e-mails, and — finally — a reunion in the city where they first met.

A carefully charted map of a long-distance relationship, Jennifer E. Smith’s new novel shows that the center of the world isn’t necessarily a place. It can be a person, too.

My Non-Spoiler Thoughts

The idea of this book, where two young teens meet on an elevator during a black-out in New York was very captivating. However, once I had finished reading this book I realized it wasn’t quite good enough. I felt like I was being rushed into things at times and that the characters moved on from things too easily. There were some pros, like I loved the travel aspect but I wish there had been more time in each area.

What I liked

I enjoyed the blackout aspect of this story. If my city ever blacked out, I don’t know what I would do. I also liked how the character’s handled the blackout. The Lucy didn’t whine like the rich brat she could’ve been and that was very helpful in this story.

I also liked how the characters went from country to country or state to state in this story. It made me want to go everywhere they had been.

What I didn’t like

Even though I liked their own travels across the United Stated and Europe, I felt they were there one chapter and gone the next, and it was like I missed out on so much. It felt like there was a quick jump made and not enough details were given to satisfy the jump from place to place.

I also didn’t like how easily the two characters had moved on from each other. It was odd their relationship with each other and also their relationships with others. I felt Lucy’s dad was barely involved in her life even though she never described them as really ignoring her. Some of the characters traits just didn’t make sense.

Overall, this book is a solid quick read and great for those who wanderlust. I didn’t particularly like it, but it wasn’t horrible either. I can’t exactly recommend it but I can’t not recommend it either. This book lies more on the middle line for me.

7 thoughts on “Review: The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

Leave a Reply

