Review: Anna and The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

photo 1 (8)

5 stars

Goodreads

Buy it at: Amazon l BookDepository l Chapters/Indigo l BarnesandNoble

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris–until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming,beautiful, Étienne has it all…including a serious girlfriend. 

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss?


My Non-Spoiler Thoughts:

What can I say about this book other than that I loved it. From the beginning straight to the end, I adored it. I remember a couple years ago I saw this book at my public library and I wouldn’t pick it up, I refused. I had assumed it’d be some cheesy book and it would’ve been a waste of my time. Now, I would willingly re-read it over and over, this book was that good.

The book is about Anna who was sent to boarding school in France by her father. Being as she is in a new country, one she especially doesn’t know the language of, things are a little rough. There in her boarding school she meets Étienne St. Clair, the bookboyfriend of all bookboyfriends a girl could want, and a friendship blossoms.

You would think that parents would play no role in a story where their daughter is sent abroad, but in this one they play key roles in Anna’s life, as well as St. Clair and his parents. Honestly, this is what made the book. Had the parents just been hidden in the book and barely mentioned, the book wouldn’t have hit the bar it did. Anna and St. Clair are not yet adults, and so it is necessary that their parents will hold power over their decisions and influence parts of their lives.

What I Liked

There is so much I liked about this book, from the parents involvement as I mentioned earlier and to Perkins writing style.

I enjoyed the characters the most, Anna was relatable and St. Clair was irresistible. The main group of friends, Josh, Meredith, Rashmi, Anna, and St. Clair, were very well rounded characters. Also I can’t wait to hear from Josh in Isla (who is mentioned in this book!).

The best thing about this story is what I learned from it. Now, whenever I find myself in Paris and near the Notre Dame, for sure I will plant myself in the center of all of Paris and make a wish. Reading about all the sights and the delicious pastries makes me reconsider where I would like to choose to study abroad. Paris, thanks to this book, is now in the running.

What I Didn’t Like

The only thing that really bothered me was how little we heard from Anna’s friends from back home. I’d liked to have learned more about them when she had gone down during Christmas break, but it seemed she had closed off unnecessarily from Matt.

Overall, Anna and the French Kiss, although it sets during the school year, is the perfect summery read. Like everyone says, it makes you feel all warm and gooey inside. It’s a great pick-me-up from TFIOS.

One thought on “Review: Anna and The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Leave a Reply

