My Book Journey Through School: Grades 2-10

book journey

Reading has always been a major part of my life, and especially my experience through school. I would get so excited for book reports that it sort of helped flowed me towards the path of loving school. This post is every book I can remember that either I read for school or it was important in that year of my life, it shaped me. You can post your own book journey’s through school as well, I ‘d love to check them out!

Also, if you’re not in the mood to read all of this, I summed them all up into pictures at the bottom of the post!

So, I am going to start with Grade 2 because that is when I moved to Canada, and also where I remember more of my life.

The first book I remember was read to me by my teacher. It was The Lion The Witch and The Wardrobe by C.S Lewis, the second book of Narnia. I remember buying the book myself, I got the movie tie-in edition from a book fair, and reading it before my teacher had finished reading it to the class. I was one of the kids who had learned to read from a young age, so I was bored of being read to.

I remember when the movie had come out and my class watched it together while eating a snack of Turkish Delights, all powder fingered and all. This book you could say helped lead me into becoming an avid reader, but it wasn’t till two years later that I started going crazy on reading outside of school.

Next, my class did a group book report on Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White. We would get in groups and read together in the halls. Of course I did the most reading because it annoyed me to no end having to listen to the kid across from me struggling along. I remember liking the story, but I didn’t love it. One of the main characters was a spider and I to this day have a fear of those eight-legged creatures. Also, spider-webs grossed me out so I wasn’t entrigued by the words being written in them.

Then Grade 3 came a long. It was also the start of a mini Roald Dahl craze. My teacher had us read together his book, The Witches. In her class we had silent reading and so one day I decided to pick up another of his books, Danny the Champion of the World. I loved that book so much I think I re-read it too many times to count.

Then, we did our own book reports on books chosen at home. My mom used to take me to this used bookstore and one day I found this pretty book that I just had to have, so that became my book report. It was Somebody Else’s Summer by Jean Little. I remember fantasizing my own self partaking in the events of this book. Wishing I could trade places with someone for the summer.

Now into Grade 4 where I read Harry Potter for the first time, though I only read it during free-time. I picked up the last book first, the Deathly Hallows, but I didn’t get far. All the names were long and hard for me to pronounce in my head (now I am puzzled over how that ever could be, Severus and Lucius aren’t that hard anymore). I was stubborn (still am) and so I read the second book after a miscommunication with my family. All these years I thought they had told me to skip the first book because it was pointless, now just the other day I was informed that it was the third book they had all been talking about (I used to mix up third and first all the time as I struggle making a th- sound) and they didn’t even mean it was pointless, just that is wasn’t as good.

Another event that year occurred that encouraged me more than ever to become an author. A very popular Canadian author, Eric Wilson. Honestly I hadn’t heard of him before, but my friend was a huge fan. He came and talked to the school and I remember I picked up his book from the school library the day after. It was The Murder On The Canadian. The book gave me nightmares and ever since I have stayed far away from any horror/mysteries.

Now onto Grade 5. I read this one book called Once Upon a Marigold on my own and I can’t remember whether I had finished it or not, but I do know that I had really enjoyed it. That year my class read the Voyage of the Mimi screenplay and it didn’t interest me much. honestly, I found it kind’ve boring.

Then in my last year of elementary, Grade 6 (here in Canada in my school district we don’t have a middle school. We have elementary kindergarten-grade 6 and then a high school where the 7-8s are split off, but still apart of the school) we read Tuck Everlasting. If I ever had to pick a book that I enjoyed the most reading in school, this one would be it. Honestly, Tuck was my first ever bookboycrush. I wanted to live in the world of Winnie and Tuck and I would have so drank that everlasting fountain water.

This year was also as I would call it a book blur. I read so many memorable books that year. The most memorable would be Ginger Pye by Eleanor Estes which I read for a book report. It surprised me by being the first book to make me cry. I was in an Animal Ark faze then (I only read Ben M. Baglio’s books) and animal books were my go-to’s, but, I wasn’t that kid who went around pretending they were a pony. Actually, I would label myself as a jock. Everyday at recess, when the snow had finally left, I had my pink soccer ball which I kicked around with my friends. I was a jock by day and booknerd by night.

This was also the year I became my own little book thief, I didn’t steal from strangers or from some ladies’ fancy collection. I stole from both my brother and sister. From my sister I read Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy which started me on my obsession with Ally Carter (I still love this series). I also read the Clique books by Lisi Harrison, and I am proud (and not proud) to say I have read them all. If I had ever come across the main characters I would have slapped them so hard with reality though. The series is like a gossip girl for kids. I remember the movie that Tyra Banks had directed which just so happened to have the star of Good Luck Charlie in it, the movie was good, but not great. Like always, the books were better.

Then, from my brother I read Artemis Fowl, but I never finished it for fear of being caught. I think I had enjoyed it. I also read part of Eragon as well which began my inner obsession with dragons.

I had by now scavenged nearly my whole house for books, and then I found two books that I had bought when I was younger back when my mom took me to the used bookstore. They are two of my utmost favourite series, and the most difficult to collect all of the books.

The first was The Calypso Chronicles by Tynne O’Connell. To sum the book up, a girl is sent off to boarding school in the UK where she is the only American. Events fall down and she ends up kissing the Prince of England. The books are all hilarious and I laugh out loud every time I read them. Now that I have read Anna and the French Kiss, I would recommend them to someone missing out on their Etienne. This series is so difficult to find, I finally got the last book I had needed just last month. The first one I had got from the used book store, then I had found the third at another, but it is missing it’s jacket. The last book is in paperback as I had found it when I was visiting Syracuse New York and I had found it in a odd book shop. The second, believe it or not was found in Value Village. I actually have some odd connection with that store. One time I had been contemplating the Mortal Instrument series and boom I got City of Bones in soft cover, but then I got City of Ashes, City of Glass, and City of Fallen Angels in hardcover. And must I boast, they were all in amazing condition. I live for Value Village.

The second was Princess in Love, which is the third book in the Princess Diaries series by Meg Cabot, but I didn’t know that because it had roman numerals on the cover instead of a clear number. When I was way younger, before I had moved back to Canada, I had been obsessed with the movies starring Anne Hathaway (nothing will tear my love away from them). I had obviously bought the book so I could read more into the story, of course I had to fall in love and be heartbroken that the books are nearly impossible to find anymore. I still haven’t gotten them all. I have the first and the third in paperback. Then, the second is on my kobo. Then I somehow have all the last three in hardcover. I know how the story begins and I know how it ends, but there is a huge gap missing. Someday I hope to finish it all.

On to Grade 7, where I was forced to read the Outsiders, which I hated (don’t hurt me). I didn’t like books about gangs and violence, how was I supposed to relate to it? Also, my class setting wasn’t the best either. This is also the year I did a book report on Ginger Pye again and I got an amazing mark.

Then in Grade 8 my class read two amazing books, the first was The Giver. Which, I must mention is being made into a movie (but Taylor Swift is in it :$). I think I was like the lone kid in my class to actually enjoy it. It was probably the old school binding of the books that throws kids off, because they all loved our second book, Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson. Don’t you ever notice that, when it’s those tiny over used books, made to be compact for school that no kid seems to enjoy it, but when the book looks nice and new and contemporary, the kids actually enjoy it. Tip for teachers, pick books with nice covers and you’ve got the kids hooked.

Speak also was kind’ve amazing, the movie which we all watched together was just as. Kristen Stewart was amazing in it. I wish she would have stuck to those types of movies over Twilight. But, hey she did make a load of more money off those movies.

Note: If I were to mention every book I had read on my own from Grade 8 to now, this would turn into a novel. So instead I’m going to mention the last four books school has made me read.

The first was Waiting For the Rain by Sheila Gordon. Not knowing much about the Apartheid and what had truly gone on down in Africa, this book was highly educational even though it was fiction. Then I also read Romeo & Juliet, which I had no problem in understanding. In my opinion Romeo & Juliet is like a warning that sometimes if you’re too impulsive life can bite you in the butt. I mean the entire book is all of the characters acting without thinking. Everything would have been easier had people only communicated better.

I was forced to read Romeo & Juliet again this year because I had moved schools, and I pray I won’t have to again as I am changing again. I would rather read Hamlet or A Midnight Summer’s Dream or even Macbeth, those are his good ones.

The other two books were read one after the other as I had to do a comparative of the two (I had the choice to compare one to Romeo & Juliet but no way was I ever going to think about that book again). The first that I read was The Catcher In the Rye. At first I was amazed at how much alike Holden and I thought but then, I felt horrible. I didn’t want to think that way anymore, I didn’t want to be like Holden, so this book changed me. The next book I had loved far more, it was To Kill A Mockingbird. Why had I not read it sooner. This book also made me re-think the state of law and I wondered how many men were wrongly imprisoned for rape and I can understand why it can be difficult to accuse anyone of it or assume anyone had done it. It is so difficult that I can understand if a jury ever got it wrong. The only people who really know whether it was rape were the two involved and that brings in the he-said she-said ordeal.

So, that’s it for books I’ve read through school or in school. If you ever need any book recommendation for any type of reader, whether it’s your girly friend or that kid who loves classic literature but wants to try contemporary I can help. I think I’ve read nearly every genre in YA/MG and a load of Adult that are good for teens/kids. Also, I would love to read your recommendations, as I always say, “You can never have too many books!”

All of the books mentioned above:

Note: click on the image to view it’s Goodread’s page

Grade 2

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (Chronicles of Narnia, #1) Charlotte's Web

Grade 3

The Witches Danny the Champion of the World Somebody Else's Summer

Grade 4

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7) Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Book 2) Murder on The Canadian (The Tom and Liz Austen Mysteries, #1)

Grade 5

 Once Upon a Marigold (Upon a Marigold, #1)

Grade 6

                            Tuck Everlasting Ginger Pye (The Pyes, #1) The Animal Ark Treasury Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy (Gallagher Girls, #2) The Clique (The Clique, #1)

                                              Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, #1) Eragon (The Inheritance Cycle, #1) Pulling Princes (Calypso Chronicles, #1) Princess in Love (The Princess Diaries, #3)

Grade 7 & 8

The Outsiders The Giver (The Giver #1) Speak

Grade 9 & 10

Waiting for The Rain Romeo and Juliet The Catcher in the Rye To Kill a Mockingbird

Thanks so much for taking your time to read this!

One thought on “My Book Journey Through School: Grades 2-10

Leave a Reply

