Review: Red Riding Hood by Sarah Blakley-Cartwright

photo 1 (2)photo 2 (2)


3-out-of-5-stars

+1/2

Goodreads l Book Outlet l Book Depository l Amazon l Chapters/Indigo l Barnes & Noble

The description can contain some elements that you may not want to know before reading so I recommend you read the italicized part then move on to my review below. If you don’t mid knowing a lot more about the plot then go ahead.

Back of the book description: The Blacksmith would marry her. The Woodcutter would run away with her. The werewolf would turn her into one of its own.

Valerie’s sister was Beautiful, kind, and sweet. Now, she is dead. Henry, the handsome son of the blacksmith, tries to console Valerie, but her wild heart beats faster for another: the outcast woodcutter Peter, who offers Valerie another life far from home.

After her sister’s violent death, Valerie’s world begins to spiral out of control. For generations, the Wolf has been kept at bay with a monthly sacrifice. But now no one is safe. When an expert Wolf hunter arrives, the villagers learn that the creature lives among them – it could be anyone in town.

It soon becomes clear that Valerie is the only one who can hear the voice of the creature. The Wolf says she must surrender herself before the blood moon wanes . . . or everyone she loves will die.


 

 

Now For My Non-Spoiler thoughts

So, this book is a movie tie-in edition of the 2011 movie starring Amanda Seyfried IMDBI found that after I had read the book and watched the movie, that the two were meant to be done together. Things that were missing in the movie were explained in the book and similarly what was missing in the book was in the movie.

The book itself was not written that bad. Some of it’s parts and lines did not come off as cheesy as they did in the movie. The only bit that bothered me was that it could be very choppy at times. It would cut very awkwardly from scene to scene where it changes from another point of view; it didn’t seem to flow.

Now, I have to point out a little detail about my copy of the book. Before every chapter is a beautiful page of swirly designs around the chapter number; which I found to be a nice touch. Also, at the beginning there is an introduction where Catherine Hardwicke explains a bit about the book and why she chose Sarah to write the novel based on the screenplay, it ends looking as though she had signed the book herself. I found it very interesting to read about.

I rated this book 3.5 stars as I did enjoy it. I remember back when the movie had first came out (that was the same time I was obsessed with Twilight) and I was so excited to see it as the same lady who had Directed Twilight. I remember being so enthralled into the story. I don’t know why it took me so long to get my hands on the book, I had been meaning to for years. Now, after I had read it I found it did not blow me away like the movie had done. This is the first time that I will admit; the movie was better than the book. I know the book was written after the movie was made, but still it could have been better. I like the world of Daggorhorn, the feel of it is just so different. The way the people live and what they wear is so different, and I love it. Like I said, I enjoyed the book, but it wasn’t anything special.

However, this book was worth the read as I now can understand the movie more, so I do recommend it if you are interested in a darker re-telling of the Little Red Riding Hood, to pick up the book and the movie as well as they do come together better as a pair.. If you are on a fairy tale re-telling spree or you just love you some wolves, this book will give you your fix.

Let know in the comments whether if you had seen the movie before and what you had thought of it or if you had also read the book what you thought as well of them together. Also, am I the only one who preferred Henry in the movies (and the book at points) over Peter?

Leave a Reply

